Nicholas Collon conductor

Augustin Hadelich violin

WAGNER Die Meistersinger: Prelude to Act I

MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor


BRAHMS Symphony No.1

Grammy award-winning Augustin Hadelich plays Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, the composer’s most popular creation and a wondrous fusion of romantic melodiousness and classical restraint. It is an inspired, innovative work with a lullaby-like slow movement and a brilliant finale.

Brahms struggled as he wrote his First Symphony, a process that took some nineteen years, though it was well worth the wait. This masterpiece established him as the true heir and successor of his great hero Beethoven.

The inspiring Nicholas Collon begins with The Mastersingers Overture, a superb medley of themes from Wagner’s most warm-hearted and humorous opera.

Tickets for The Hallé (subject to booking fees) at Sheffield City Hall are available online at in person at the City Hall Box Office or by calling 0114 2 789 789.

Friday, April 20 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm