Markus Poschner conductor

Brigitte Geller soprano

TBC alto

MAHLER Symphony No. 2, ‘Resurrection’

Markus Poschner, the Bruckner Orchester Linz, soloists and the joint forces of the Sheffield and Leeds Philharmonic Choruses perform Mahler’s truly epic ‘Resurrection’ Symphony. It promises to be an unforgettable experience.

The highly dramatic first movement portrays a superman’s titanic struggle with fate. The second and third movements offer contrast, the text of the latter describing St Anthony’s sermon to the fishes. Then, as the orchestra falls silent, the alto soloist enters in magical fashion, the voice of religious faith.

Finally, voices, orchestra and organ combine in what could well be the most awe-inspiring vision of redemption and re-birth in all music.

Tickets for Bruckner Orchester Linz, Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus & Leeds Philharmonic Chorus (subject to booking fees) at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Saturday, May 5 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm