Jean-Claude Picard conductor

Ailish Tynan soprano

Anna Harvey mezzo-soprano

Nicholas Mulroy tenor

Peter Harvey bass-baritone

ARVO PÄRT Da pacem Domine

MOZART Symphony No.36, ‘Linz’


MOZART Requiem

Jean-Claude Picard is a young conductor praised for the intensity and flair of his performances. Tonight he directs the  Manchester Camerata and Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus in Mozart’s great Requiem. Unfinished at the composer’s death, it was completed by a star pupil; its origins are somewhat shrouded in mystery and intrigue. But whatever those origins really were, it remains a profound musical experience for audiences and performers alike.

The lighter side of Mozart is in evidence in his beautifully buoyant ‘Linz Symphony’. He wrote it in just a few days while passing through the Austrian city of its title. The concert opens with Arvo Pärt’s Da Pacem Domine for strings, based on his great choral prayer for peace, a work of serenity and quite astonishing beauty.

Tickets for the Manchester Camerata and Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Saturday, February 3 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm