Jonathon Heyward conductor

Laurence Rogers horn

GRIEG Peer Gynt: Selection

R. STRAUSS Horn Concerto No.1


SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2

Grieg’s Peer Gynt includes a glorious depiction of dawn, the thrilling Hall of the Mountain King and much more. No wonder it remains so popular! Laurence Rogers is soloist in Richard Strauss’s youthful First Horn Concerto, firmly established, along with those of Mozart, as one of the best and most loved concertos for the instrument.

First performed in 1902, Sibelius’s Second Symphony immediately became an emblem for Finnish people in their battles against Russian oppression. Sibelius hadn’t intended such a purpose, but a sense of heroic struggle still lies at its core.

Tickets for the The Hallé at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Friday, February 16 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm