Sir Mark Elder conductor

Hong Xu piano

ELGAR Overture: In the South

MOZART Piano Concerto No.18, K456


DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 7

Hong Xu is not just a pianist of dazzling technique but a musician of great subtlety and insight. He joins Sir Mark Elder and the Hallé in Mozart’s B flat major Piano Concerto. Composed for the blind pianist and composer Maria Theresia von Paradis, its two lively outer movements frame exquisite variations on a theme.

Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony owes much to the influence of Brahms, though it is also distinctively Czech. Its overall mood is rather turbulent, throwing into sharp relief the unrestrained exuberance of its ending: a stirring rallying call to Dvořák’s compatriots. The concert springs into life with Elgar’s great tribute to Italy, 'In the South'.

Tickets for the The Hallé at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Friday, May 25 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm