Valery Polyansky conductor

Alexander Sitkovetsky violin

TCHAIKOVSKY Sleeping Beauty: Suite 

PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1 


TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Russian music is simply some of the most melodious, passionate and uplifting ever written. Tonight our Russian theme comes into sharp focus with music and musicians all connected to that country. From its famous opening waltz, Moscow-based Khachaturian’s Masquerade Suite attractively reflects its composer’s Armenian roots. Born in Moscow, Alexander Sitkovetsky performs Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto, a work at times intensely lyrical, at others humorous and sardonic.

Who better to perform Tchaikovsky’s gripping Fourth Symphony than the Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra under Valery Polyansky, a leading interpreter of Russian repertoire? With its recurring fate motif, the symphony is one of music’s most dramatic and satisfying journeys with a profusion of great melodies along the way.

Tickets for Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Saturday, March 3 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm