Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla conductor

Rudolf Buchbinder piano

DEBUSSY (orch. Colin Matthews) Orchestral Preludes: 

La cathédrale engloutie; La puerta del vino; Général Lavine – l’eccentrique; Minstrels    

La cathédrale engloutie  (5); 
La puerta del vino  (4); 
Général Lavine – l’eccentrique  (3); 
Minstrels  (3)    La cathédrale engloutie  (5); La puerta del vino  (4); Général Lavine – l’eccentrique  (3); Minstrels  (3)    

SCHUMANN Piano Concerto


STRAVINSKY Symphonies of Wind Instruments (1947)


Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla’s conducting combines the dynamism of youth with a profundity well beyond her years. Tonight the CBSO and their Music Director perform a truly fascinating programme that begins with Debussy’s charming Children’s Corner, a piece dedicated to the composer’s beloved daughter. Schumann’s Piano Concerto is a passionate and poetic affair, written for Schumann’s wife Clara. The soloist tonight is a particularly welcome guest, the legendary Rudolf Buchbinder.

A change of tone comes with Stravinsky’s Symphonies of Wind Instruments, its chant-like qualities suggesting the incense shrouded rituals of the Russian Orthodox Church. Finally in Debussy’s magnificently briny La Mer, a trilogy of seascapes depicting the ocean at different times of day.

Tickets for City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (subject to booking fees) at Sheffield City Hall are available online at www.sheffieldcityhall.co.uk in person at the City Hall Box Office or by calling 0114 2 789 789.

Friday, March 16 2018
Start Time: 07:00pm
Doors Open: 05:30pm